Monday, July 25, 2011

Keep Your Vagina in Good Nick

Even though this site is focused on reviewing birth control methods, I know there are many of you who struggle with vaginal problems or know someone who could benefit from some practical but lighthearted vaginal reassurance. Vaginal problems can affect intercourse which indirectly can affect your 'contraception career' , use of condoms and the way you feel about or enjoy sex overall.

 I mentioned this little book as a handy gold mine of information in  a previous post but with many copies selling to MEN (surprise!) I thought it wouldn't hurt to post a reminder for those who may have missed it. One issue per page is dealt with in a lighthearted manner with no 'medicalese'.
You can check yourselk out in the privacy of your own home and find out if really need to see a doctor or if you can treat the symptoms yourself.

My inexpensive guide " Happy Vaginas for the Over 40s"- ($11.95) is packed with self help information and tips on all the major vaginal problems we goddesses face so it’s a ‘must have’ for anyone who wants to keep their ‘lady garden’ in good nick!

Please let me know if you have any further vaginal issues and I'll do my best to get you the latest, accurate information.

Monday, May 23, 2011

An Amazing Book Honours Women's Vaginas

This is a gentle nudge to remind you to check your monthly supply of low dose birth control pills and to pop a couple of fresh condoms into your purse. I also want to focus on bringing a new book to your attention which could literally change your life and the way you view the most intimate part of your body. Ordinary women have been courageous enough to share their bodies in this exquisitely photographed collection - these are not air brushed models who have been selected for their touched up ’beautiful bits’. 

The book of yonis is 164 full colour pages, designed exquisitely and bound beautifully in a hardback cover. it is a beautiful gift or addition to your bookcase or coffee table, and the perfect way to celebrate the heart of the flower that is woman.

Consider giving your beloved a gift that will give you both a lot to talk about and hopefully take your appreciation of each other to a unique place.  Watch this short video about the book,  ‘Heart of the Flower’. 

Read what others say about ‘Heart of the Flower’:

“You have created something really special with this book. It is a spiritual experience every time I sit down and read/look at it. I feel blessed to have known of it when it is first released. Thanks for letting me be part of that. A book to pass down and around. Much love.” Di”

It’s funny because as someone who sees Yonis on a daily basis the images were not by any means a surprise or shock for me. Yet the different angles along with each lady’s words made me view them again from a totally different way. All in all I think this book should be the bible for all woman (especially younger women) to eradicate any fear or uncertainty, and almost more importantly for men.” — Natalie, 22, beauty therapist

“I’ve had 30 years of therapy, psychiatry and reading this book has been the most healing thing that could happen to me. I can’t tell you how it’s helped me and how important it’s been to me. It’s wonderful. Every woman should own a copy.” — Deb

“Is it possible to read the words of these women and look at their pictures not through a haze of tears? Beautiful. Brave. Stunning. Powerful. Wow — what a book.” Ian, 44

Heart of the Flower: The book of yonis is an unflinching exploration of the beautiful diversity of women’s genitals, free of judgement, shame and embarrassment.

Fifty everyday women have posed for up-close and personal photographs that show their genitals from many different and rarely seen angles. Each woman writes candidly with wit, wisdom, passion, even despair, about her relationship with her yoni.

The book brings into light the ins and outs of the female sexual anatomy, and demystifies and challenges the way society views women’s genitals and sexuality.

Heart of the Flower is designed to normalise and celebrate diversity at a time when labial reconstructions have reached an all-time high and women’s body image is at an all-time low. Be the proud owner of this amazing book now- you will be in awe of the art AND the beauty of a part of yourself that you may have previously have dismissed as being only functional.

Sunday, December 12, 2010

Life after Low Dose Birth Control and How to Keep Your Vagina Happy

Previously, there’s been a somewhat erroneous expectation of the post menopausal female of our species to be ‘past it’, sexually inactive or in a sexually safe monogamous relationship. With the emergence of the alleged Cougar, the popularity of on line dating services and the changing relationship norms of today’s society, over 40s and post menopausal females need to be really savvy about managing the skin to skin aspects of their new intimate relationships. 
Great, we may not need pregnancy protection any more girls but as well as protecting ourselves from gold digging gigolos looking for ‘Mother with Benefits’ we do need to protect ourselves from other unwelcome catches. Our mellowing vaginas are past the spring chicken stage which means that we are more susceptible to picking up a sexually transmitted infection (STI) or to missing the signs that we may already have one.
Any sexually active person can be infected with Chlamydia. (Chlamydia trachomatis) I thought it best to mention this little Charlie (you’ll notice that I give the villains male names - don’t read anything into that) because he is a very common bacterial STI which you probably think only infects the young ones. Incidences of middle aged goddesses getting lumbered with STI’s are on the rise. . You’ll be safe from future fetuses once you exit menopause but if you embark on new sexual journeys with new partners, please be a savvy, condom loaded gal and protect yourself and your vagina from STIs.
Symptoms of Chlamydia - are like those of a UTI (abnormal vaginal discharge or a burning sensation when urinating and crampy pain in the lower abdomen). Chlamydia can also cause conjunctivitis. BUT the real bummer is that most women don’t have any symptoms so Charlie Chlamydia romps wherever he pleases inside your body, free to hop happily onto someone else if you give him half a chance.
Diagnosis - Chlamydia is diagnosed from a pap smear or from swabs you can take yourself. Chlamydia can’t be diagnosed from a blood test.
Treatment is simple and effective though it can cause a few uncomfortable side effects such as diarrhea, nausea and abdominal pain however, just a single prescribed dose of antibiotics - Azithromycin (Zithromax) or the less costly Doxycycline (Vibramycin, Oracea, Adoxa, Atridox) usually sends Charlie packing. Don’t have sex until at least a week after treatment. If your partner is receiving treatment for Chlamydia, don’t have sex until at least a week after both of you have been treated.
Stop Charlie entering your door simply by using a condom (male or female variety) and don’t have unprotected sex with a new partner unless you’re sure that they have passed their STD exam!

I actually took this post from a page in a handy new guide I have just published(pen name Claire Preston) called "Happy Vaginas for the Over 40's - how to resuscitate your ageing vagina and protect her from menopausal meltdown!"  I wrote this little self help book after reading all the desperate comments in women's forums about the problems mature women are having with painful sex, dry vaginas and persistent discharges of one type or another.  Even though this site is focused on reviewing birth control methods, I know there are many of you who struggle with vaginal problems or know someone who could benefit from some practical but lighthearted vaginal reassurance. My inexpensive guide is packed with information and tips on all the major vaginal problems so it’s a ‘must have’ for young women too if they want to keep their ‘lady garden’ in good nick!

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

World Contraception Day – Show and Tell Please

2010 will be the 4th year for celebrating World Contraception Day.  September 26th is the day when I encourage you to overcome any embarrassment you may feel and find someone you trust to talk about your birth control and sexual health. It doesn't matter who you are, you must protect yourself from STIs and if you are not ready to take responsibility for bringing up another human being, find someone you feel comfortable with and spend some time seriously focusing on giving your 'contraception career' a thorough health check.

Ask yourself :
  • do I have unprotected sex
  • do I talk to my sexual partner about birth control
  • do I know how reliable my method of birth control really is
  • do I believe that 'withdrawal' is an effective method of birth control 
It's never too late to take control. You are being responsible, not promiscuous, by talking about sex. Don't rely on guesswork or on the potentially inaccurate information from your mates. You will be amazed at the wealth of new facts you will uncover by taking time out to review all your birth control options. With STIs just waiting to catch YOU, don't be caught with your barrier down! Make September 2010 the month in which  you empower yourself in your sexual relationships.

Well done if you have so far eluded a dose of Chlamydia. On September 26th 2010 make a resolution to 'stay clean'.

Make another resolution on September 26th 2010 that when you are ready to have a family of your own, YOUR baby will be a well planned and welcomed one - then take the steps to keep it.

Have the courage to be a leader on September 26th 2010 -  talk to someone about low dose birth control, free condom suppliers, emergency contraception or whatever bothers you about sex -  then show your friends how they can do the same.  Come on -Be a heroine for a day..

Looking for some safe sex gift ideas?

Monday, September 13, 2010

Female Condom FC2- a good option to Low Dose Birth Control

As a female in charge of your contraception career, you may be on some form of low dose birth control to prevent pregnancy but are you doing all you can to make sure you’re protected from STDs? The FC2 offer protection and may be ideal if you prefer a non hormonal form of birth control.

Do You Know Your Sex Partner’s HIV Status? If you live in Washington State and step into a beauty salon, convenience store or you attend high school, hopefully by now you’ve had access to one of the new female condoms– to try for free.  You already know that it can be risky and often intimidating to rely on a
guy for condom ‘enthusiasm’. There are still guys who refuse to use condoms and even if he assures you that he’s ‘been tested’- once is not enough for either of you.

Are you in a ‘committed relationship’? Last year's  HIV Behavior Study 2009  reveals how this does not guarantee that you are sexually ‘safe’. Heterosexual Afro Americans in particular, are still engaging in sexual acts that place them at high risk of infection from STDs and HIV/AIDS. A study shows that even after a high school education, less than one third of guys used a condom and are not protecting themselves even though they themselves (and possibly their partners too) are having sex outside their current relationship. HIV/AIDS sadly causes the highest rate ofdeaths in black women and in Washington DC is now rated an epidemic. 

Are you really doing all you can to keep yourself protected? You don’t have to put your male partner on the spot. You can take charge independently of seeing a doctor too.Talk to your friends about the new FC2 female condoms and be brave enough to be a thoroughly modern Millie..You can buy female condom FC2 at Undercover Condoms Sales - Click here to view this month’s sale items including Condoms, Lubricants, and more!!

Sunday, December 6, 2009

Sorry to be repeating myself like an out of tune Christmas Carol but this content from last year is still just as applicable this season and hey, it doesn't hurt to remind yourself to stock up on a high dose of condoms, even if your favourite method of contraception is currently low dose birth control pills. An unexpected 'gift' that lasts a lifetime could dampen the fun for you this year if you don't make sure that you're well protected against pregnancy AND STIs.

Just to whet your appetite a little, check out the fun condoms out there and maybe surprise him with a female one (with the outside rim over the clitoris for extra stimulation)

Look out for these varieties:

  • Night Light: Glow-In-The-Dark Condom
  • Flavored Condoms If you are planning to use these condoms for vaginal sex, make sure they are sugar -free as sugar flavored condoms can throw off the pH in the vagina, which can lead to yeast infections.
  • Studded Condoms
  • Warming Condoms They contain a warming lubricant that is activated by natural body moisture, so it heats up during sexual intercourse.
  • Edible Condoms - are for novelty use only -- they do not provide any type of protection against pregnancy or sexually transmitted diseases.
  • Pleasure Shaped
  • Colored Condoms - fly the flag with tri-colored condoms that feature the national colors of 36 countries, such as America, France, Spain, Russia and Italy.
  • Kiss of Mint Condoms
  • French Ticklers provide stimulation by "tickling" the inner walls of the vagina. These condoms are considered to be novelty types, so they do not provide prevention of pregnancy or disease. A man can wear a regular condom underneath the tickler to ensure contraceptive protection.
  • Tingling Pleasure Condoms
You can find a good selection of novelty condoms at this site.

Safe Loving and a Very Merry Christmas, see you in January,

Kind regards Carole